Vidalia Onion Promoting Shrek

May 29, 2010 StormAshley

I was on my way to class this morning and I was listening to the radio and the talk show host brought up how big Vidalia Onions were becoming. I have heard of them before just because im living in Statesboro and Vidalia isnt too far from here but i never thought they were tat big of a company.

The Radio Host was discussing how Vidalia Onion teamed up with Disney and they are packaging it’s onion’s in Shrek themed packages. This is huge for Vidalia Onion. Everyone was calling in and commenting on how they’re children were noticing the onions in the store and they were even willing to eat them when they would normally refuse.

Even though they have just recently teamed up, Vidalia Onion is already reporting a major increase in sales due to the Shrek themed packaging. Overall it has turned out to be a success.

Entry Filed under: PR Connections

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  May 31, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Hey, Ashley! It is too funny how you and I chose the same layout for our blogs! I read through some of your blogs but I chose this one to comment on so I could offer a suggestion. I have read through many of our classmates’ blogs and have seen the exact same mistakes, so I’m not sure if anyone knows about this feature, but WordPress has a tool that will correct your spelling, grammar, and sentence structure in the blog. It is amazing- my blogs would be awful without it! I noticed in this blog that you had a few mistakes that the tool would have caught for you. I’m not sure if Prof. Nixon grades strictly on mistakes, but just in case, I’ve been trying to tell people about the correction tool! I hope it helps, just in case she does grade on that. You could have just been in a hurry when you typed it though, just wanted to suggest!
    Anyways, I really enjoyed this PR connection! Vidalia onions were thinking smart when they decided to use Shrek as a PR move to increase sales. I, for one, hate onions. But perhaps little kids will see Shrek on onions and be more likely to eat (and learn to like) onions. Not only does it increase sales for Vidalia onions, but it promotes healthy eating in children. Way to go, Vidalia onions!

  • 2. Blog Comments « Ash&hellip  |  June 1, 2010 at 12:28 am

    […] Vidalia Onion Promoting Shrek by Ashley Storm May 31, 2010- Hey, Ashley! It is too funny how you and I chose the same layout for our blogs! I read through some of your blogs but I chose this one to comment on so I could offer a suggestion. I have read through many of our classmates’ blogs and have seen the exact same mistakes, so I’m not sure if anyone knows about this feature, but WordPress has a tool that will correct your spelling, grammar, and sentence structure in the blog. It is amazing- my blogs would be awful without it! I noticed in this blog that you had a few mistakes that the tool would have caught for you. I’m not sure if Prof. Nixon grades strictly on mistakes, but just in case, I’ve been trying to tell people about the correction tool! I hope it helps, just in case she does grade on that. You could have just been in a hurry when you typed it though, just wanted to suggest! Anyways, I really enjoyed this PR connection! Vidalia onions were thinking smart when they decided to use Shrek as a PR move to increase sales. I, for one, hate onions. But perhaps little kids will see Shrek on onions and be more likely to eat (and learn to like) onions. Not only does it increase sales for Vidalia onions, but it promotes healthy eating in children. Way to go, Vidalia onions! […]

  • 3. Wendy Brannen  |  June 10, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks for the very nice compliment!

    It’s been a LOT of work but a LOT of fun to team up with DreamWorks on this “Ogres & Onions” project!

    Since we’re a nonprofit office and only a handful of local farmers pay to market their Vidalias nationally, it’s exciting to do a promotion this big–right along McD’s and all the big corporations!

    Thanks for supporting our sweeties, and be sure you and your readers play the Shrek-themed Vidalia Hunt ‘n Peel game at VidaliaOnion.org–you could win some ogre-sized prizes!!!

    W. Brannen, Exec. Director
    Vidalia Onion Committee
    VidaliaOnion.org


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
